Are Bagels Vegan?


A toasted bagel with cheese and a fresh cup of coffee, or a bagel sandwich. Many bread-loving Americans will enjoy this for breakfast (which most of us are), but the question are bagels vegan?

Veganism does not mean your mornings will be as easy as picking up a bagel from any coffee shop on your way to work and without worrying about what’s in it.

Are bagels vegan?

The answer to this issue, as with most others about store-bought goods, is that it depends on the ingredients. To ease your fears, I’ll inform you that there are plenty of bagels vegan options out there to help calm your anxieties a little.

If you’ve been snacking on bagels, vegan ice cream is a great way to round off your snack, which you can make at home very quickly, but for that you’ll need…

Now that we’ve donned our detective hats, let’s delve into the bagel world to discover which ones are suitable for vegans and which ones we’ll have to say goodbye to.

Bagel could be non-vegan due to a number of factors. Isn’t that all there is?

A panera bread should not contain any non-vegan ingredients, according to conventional wisdom. But this isn’t always the case! Bagels are similar in this respect.

Many commercially marketed panera bread and bagels contain substances derived from sources other than plants. Before buying any kind of bagel, make sure it’s vegan-friendly by reading the label.

Are bagels vegan?

Non-Vegan Ingredients in Bagels

Bagels can contain the following components, some of which are not vegan and others are debatable:


Eggs are categorically not vegan, regardless of what anyone else thinks. Many people, on the other hand, are unaware that sauces like mayonnaise can include egg.

Unless you’re a regular at your neighborhood coffee shop, you should stay away from mayonnaise and hollandaise sauces, which are homemade bagels with egg yolks.

Eggs have been used in bagels on occasion, despite the fact that they are not commonly seen in traditional recipes. What counts as “traditional” depends on your definition of tradition and how far you want to take it.

Claudia Roden, a renowned food historian and author of The Book of Jewish Food: An Odyssey from Samarkand and Vilna to the Present, has written on the subject.

Roden was raised in Cairo by Syrian-Jewish parents, a long way from the Ashkenazi Jewish community of Poland’s accepted bagels’ origins. But there’s no denying she’s an expert in her field.

If you’re interested in reading more about the pros and cons of adding an egg to your bagel dough, check out The Guardian’s guide to bagel-making.

However, one thing is for certain: some recipes for bagel dough do call for eggs, as she explains in her critically praised book on Jewish gastronomy.

There are two methods to use eggs in this delectable bread recipe. Some recipes ask for egg white to be used as a glazing ingredient in addition to adding a full egg to the dough to achieve a lighter, softer bagel.

When adding sesame or poppy seeds to a baked dish, the egg white helps them stick to the top. Some recipes utilize an entire beaten egg to achieve the same goal of coating the baked good in a lovely glaze.



To summarize, some sugar employs bone char (derived from animal bones) to eliminate impurities and produce a very white final product, as detailed in the sections dedicated to each of those commodities on our site.

It’s nearly impossible to tell in processed foods whether the sugar used is vegan or not. You’ll have to ask the manufacturer if the bagel (or whatever else has sugar) is vegan unless it’s clearly marked.

There’s a chance the sugar in your bagel has come into touch with animal bones unless your bagel is specifically labeled as being vegan.

Your concern about the vegan credentials of modest amounts of added sugar is a personal choice, but many vegans feel that time spent caring about the vegan battle may be better spent.


The problem with flour is that it’s probably no longer something we should be concerned about. L-cysteine, an amino acid, was once commonly found in flour. It was occasionally created from animal hairs or feathers and used to improve the flour’s qualities.

However, it can be prepared in a vegetarian or vegan manner, and this is increasingly what we find in flour.

While it’s still possible to find non-vegan cysteine in flour, we doubt you’ll be able to find it in any store these days. It should be noted that, as with sugar and bone char, knowing for sure if a processed good is vegan is difficult until the final product bears the label “vegan”.

Be on the lookout for the component E920, and if you do, it should be labeled as vegan or vegetarian, indicating that no feathers, hair, or other animal products were used in its production.

Is there a problem, honey? Honey? A sweetening additive of some kind is required in almost all bagels-making procedures.

Typically, sugar is used for this, although a variety of other substances can also be utilized. Although it’s better to avoid high-fructose corn syrup for health reasons, barley malt or maple syrup, on the other hand, are at least vegan. We have a feeling you already know the outcome of this conversation.


Honey is used in a relatively tiny number of bagels, and while this may appeal to certain individuals because honey is widely regarded as a healthy, natural sweetener, it is incompatible with vegan diet because of its presence.

It can also be used to enhance the flavor, but in either case, it is off-limits to vegans and vegetarians, and should be easy to find in grocery stores bagels and avoid.

When buying bagels, are there any other ingredients that vegans should keep an eye out for?

In addition to L-cysteine, the following substances are included in many bagels and should be avoided because they come from both animal and non-animal sources.

Leptin Monoglycerides and diglycerides Diacetyl Tartaric Monoglyceride (DATEM)

Also, some vegan purists reject bleached flour products since some research suggests that bone char is sometimes used in the bleaching process.

There isn’t enough evidence to support the assertion that bleached flour is made using bone char, hence most sites consider it suitable for vegan consumption. As a result, you are free to partake.

Most bagels are created with flour, water, salt, sugar, and yeast as a basic recipe would dictate. Bagels are vegan-friendly because of these ingredients, which include no animal products.

But bear in mind that flavorings used in some bagels are derived from animal products. The sections that follow include a summary of various non-vegetarian bagel ingredients as well as a list of supermarket and chain vegan friendly bagels.

Yeast is used in the baking of bagels as well as wheat and water. Traditional bagels are vegan because they don’t include any components produced from animals.

When bagels have a flavor other than plain, potential non-vegan components come into play. Milk, eggs, cheese, and even meat are all examples of these components in some recipes. Most bagels vegan can be identified by their names (e.g., einstein bagels vegan).

Asiago Cheese bagel), but there are a few that aren’t. For example, despite its name and appearance, the Einstein Bros. Cinnamon raisin bagel is not vegan because it contains milk.

You should be able to check the ingredients on the label of any store-bought boxed bagels to see if they are vegan-friendly before you buy them.

Toppings: vegan cream cheese

Most non-vegan bagel toppings can be found in conventional bagel recipes. Cream cheese and lox (smoked salmon) are two popular bagel toppings made using animal products.

Dairy-free cheese, on the other hand, is readily available at most major supermarkets these days due to the rapid growth of dairy-free products. Tofutti and WayFare Foods make dairy-free cheese equivalents like Daiya and Go Veggie.

A Quick and Easy Vegan Bagel Snack

If you’re on the run and need a vegan bagels, look no further. The following restaurant chains serve vegan food.

It’s easy to grab a vegan bagel on the fly at Einstein Bagels, thanks to their convenient location in New York City. They have vegan options for almost all of their classic bagels, as well as a good number of their signature ones.

This seemingly simple vegetable bag plays a huge role in our nature. It is eco-friendly and is great for vegetables, fruits, as well as other products on your kitchen.

How Do You Know If Your Bagels Are Vegan?

This Is How You make A Basic Bage.l
Flour, yeast, sugar, salt, shortening or vegetable oil, and water are the main ingredients in bagels.
A typical bagel’s only controversial ingredient is shortening, which can be derived from animal fat. However, it isn’t the most popular choice these days. Vegetable oils are the most popular raw materials used by manufacturers when creating shortening.

Bagels, even the plain ones, are vegan, right?

Yes! As long as they’re produced with the original recipe, traditional bagels are vegan-friendly.
I’m aware that most bagel aficionados would consider these an inferior product. But hey, at least you’ve got a vegan bagel to look forward to.
You’ll have something to fall back on even if the rest of the bagel varieties we’ll be discussing later turn out to be non-vegan. A simple (and boring) bagel can be transformed into a delectable sandwich by channeling your inner chef.

Is It Possible to Get Other Sorts of Bagels as Well?

You’ll have to look at the ingredients list to find out. Unless you’re allergic to any of the substances I’ve specified (dairy, eggs, or synthetics), pass on the bagel. The bagel, on the other hand, is yours to keep.

Are there any vegan bagel brands?

Thankfully, the answer is yes! Vegan-friendly bagels are available at a number of well-known fast-food chains and other businesses.

Do Einstein’s Bagels include any animal products?

Einstein Bros Bagels is likely to have the most options for vegan bagels in the United States. There are no eggs or dairy in any of their traditional bagels.
Many of their Signature, Gourmet, and Thintastic menu items are vegan as well. Since a few years, Einstein Bros. has been selling cream cheese in several of their locations.

Be Wary of Adding Toppings to Your Food

As a vegan, you won’t be able to eat bagels of the standard bagel toppings. However, in order to avoid any misunderstanding, I felt the need to draw attention to it. Traditional bagel toppings are almost always not vegan.

Because veganism is becoming increasingly popular, numerous businesses have begun selling dairy-free cream cheese.

Ask for cream cheese on your bagel if you’re eating it in a restaurant or coffee shop. You may also buy one at the grocery stores to go with your frozen bagels.

Bagels: Are they suitable for vegans?

Because we adore bread, it comes out on top in the carbohydrate race, with rice, pasta, and everything else fighting for a distant third place. Some bread is vegan, while others aren’t, as we explain in our primary feature, Is Bread Vegan?

Since we’re self-proclaimed bread nerds, we’ve also written on pita bread (which is frequently vegan) and naan bread (sadly often not vegan friendly). However, do bagels resemble pitas or are they closer to the notoriously dangerous naans?

It’s good news, then. The majority of the time, bagels are made using animal products. Because bagels can be manufactured in a variety of methods, we can’t say for certain that all of them are vegan.

Furthermore, non-vegan food additives are thrown into the mix from time to time, as is the case with nearly all commercially mass-produced foods.

Bagels from Panera are vegan, but are they made with animal products?

As far as the bagel selection goes, Panera offers four vegan options: basic; blueberry; cranberry; walnut; as well as, poppyseed.

Panera bagels vegan offers a wide variety of vegan-friendly breads.

Is it possible to get vegan bagels at Starbucks?

Only four of the many bagels available at starbucks bagels vegan. Plain, cinnamon raisin, sprouted grain, and blueberry are among the options.

Are the bagels from Dunkin’ Donuts vegan?

At dunkin donuts bagels vegan, you may choose from a wide variety of vegan bagels. At this well-known donut and coffee shop, all of the bagels, including everything but plain, bagels are vegan.

Are the bagels in New York City vegan?

Several vegan bagels are available at New York Bakery Co. Included in this selection are the original and gluten-free varieties as well as seeded varieties such as cinnamon raisin, sesame, wholemeal, and red onion & chive as well as deli-loaded varieties.

In addition to the soft seeded and tomato & herb varieties, New York Bakery’s bagel thins are suitable for vegans.

If you live in New York or are planning a trip there, watch this video to learn about the best places to get vegan cream cheese and bagels.

What kind of ingredients do Thomas Plain Bagels use?

Yes! All of Thomas’ bagels are vegan, including the regular ones, as well as the whole grain and whole wheat varieties, as well as the cinnamon raisin, cinnamon swirl, blueberry, and everything varieties.

Trader Joe’s carries vegan-friendly bagels in addition to all of the above (their own brand).


Bagels are a great option for vegans because they are often dairy-free. While some vegan bagel options can contain dairy products like milk or eggs or honey, most large retailers and supermarkets have a wide selection of vegan bagels to pick from.

As an Amazon Associate, earn from qualifying purchases. I only recommend products & brands I love and that I think you would love, too!
Follow me in Pinterest!