Are Pretzels Vegan?

What does one get when they knead the dough, roll it out, twist it into a loop, and bake it for 15 minutes at high temperatures?

They receive a heaven-scented kitchen and a fluffy pretzel pastry. However, the question still remains: are pretzels vegan?

We’ll explore what goes into these curled snacks in this post to provide you with a definitive answer.

How Are Pretzels Made?

The majority of pretzels are vegan, manufactured from flour, yeast, and water dough. The pretzel is then dipped into a lye solution for an exterior coating before being placed in the oven.

These components are all vegan, but they are not gluten-free for individuals with gluten intolerance.

Some types use non-vegan ingredients like margarine or butter to soften the pretzel dough and provide a softer texture. These ingredients aren’t vegan and should be avoided if at all feasible.

If you don’t want to risk chipping your teeth while taking hard pretzels vegan alternatives such as corn syrup can be used to make pretzels fluffy and chewier.

Do Pretzels Contain Animal Bi-Products?

Certain pretzels are vegan, they made with animal products, while others are not. It is entirely dependent on the components employed in its preparation.

Vegan pretzels lack additional ingredients such as butter, cheese, or eggs. These components are utilized to soften the dough, making it more chewy and fluffy.

Added fats are other ingredients you should watch out for too. Any pretzel with these extra ingredients must be avoided at all costs.

What Vegan Toppings Are Pretzels Served With?

Butter, cheddar cheese, and dipping sauces such as mustard sauce are typical toppings. The toppings may include animal products, so exercise caution when using them.

People who are concerned about what they eat might forego the toppings and have a plain pretzel instead.

A salted pretzel is vegan-friendly and safe to eat. Because salt is a mineral rather than an animal product, it can be served with pretzels vegan without jeopardizing their vegan status.

Popular Pretzel Brands

There are many different pretzel companies on the market, so there are many options to select from. We’ve put together a list of the most common pretzel brands so you can figure out which ones are vegan.

GoldFish Pretzels

Pretzels Pepperidge Farm makes fish-shaped goldfish pretzels. The ingredients are enriched white flour, vegetable oils, malted barley flour, baking powder, salt, dextrose, and nonfat milk.

Unfortunately, these aren’t vegan. The reason for this is that goldfish pretzels contain milk products, as you may have already surmised.

SuperPretzels

The natural flavor of this brand’s most pretzels is vegan, according to the SuperPretzel website. However, other varieties such as Multigrain and cheese-filled soft pretzel snacks aren’t vegan due to cheese and honey ingredients.

Auntie Anne’s Pretzels

This company sells freshly made soft pretzels, including an extensive selection of vegan pretzels. Original, raisin, jalapeño, almond, and cinnamon sugar are among the options available.

The company also provide vegan dipping sauces such as sweet pretzel dip and marinara sauce that can be used as toppings.

Snyder’s Pretzels

For those searching for a little more vegan options, Snyder’s has a lot to offer. Garlic parmesean thin crisps, garden vegetable, dipping sticks, and peanut butter filled pretzels are just a few of the tastes available.

Snyder’s chocolate covered pretzels and pretzel sandwiches are also available, although they are not vegan.

Mr Pretzels

Mr Pretzels brand has vegan alternatives that are sure to suit those on a vegan diet. Sesame seed, cinnamon sugar, and salt are vegan toppings available.

It’s no surprise that this is a fan favorite worldwide, especially when served on a soft pretzel that’s made to order.

Rold Gold Pretzels

The Rold Gold Pretzels are deemed vegan because none of the ingredients is sourced from animals.

The rod gold pretzels Honey and Cheddar cheese Wheat flavors, on the other hand, are not considered vegan because they include dairy products like milk and cheese.

Other Frequently Asked Questions

Are Tips On How to Determine If Your Store-Bought Pretzels are Vegan?

It’s difficult to tell whether a pretzel bought from a bakery is vegan just by looking at it. The same is true when it comes to tasting, albeit it would be too late by then.
However, this should not worry you. To find out if your pretzel is vegan or not, either ask or look at the ingredients used. Pretzels made from plant-based ingredients are typical in mass-produced, packed pretzels.
Nonetheless, it’s a good idea to read the information on the package to learn if your pretzel is composed of milk, butter, and egg, as well as any derivatives of those ingredients, such as powdered forms.

What is The Difference between Soft pretzels and Hard Pretzels?

Soft and hard pretzel are the two typical types of pretzels. Although there are some slight production and component variances, these can theoretically be created in the same way, from the same dough.
Below is a quick comparison of the two types.

Soft Pretzels

These auntie anne’s pretzels vegan, typically are also referred to as the traditional pretzel because it uses a traditional German recipe. There are only three components in this pretzel: refined flour, yeast, and water. To make a dough, combine all of the components.

The dough is then molded into a pretzel. Before baking, it is dipped in a lye solution and topped with crunchy slat. The dough can be flavored with sweeteners, beers, or malts in certain traditional recipes, but these components are not essential; hence you can skip this step.

A soft pretzel is the original pretzel, with harder ones coming later.

Hard Pretzels

Unlike the traditional pretzels, the hard pretzel does not follow a traditional German recipe. Instead, it’s more commonly associated with American comfort cuisine.

The components for hard pretzels are the same as for soft pretzels. The main difference is that the hard pretzel recipe uses less water and requires a significantly longer cooking time.

What Is The Secret Ingredient Which Makes Pretzels Taste Like Pretzel?

The secret to creating pretzels is to soak them in diluted lye before baking them. The pretzels’ distinctive taste and dark brown color are due to lye, a highly concentrated alkaline.

Do Vegan Pretzels Require To Be Refrigerated?

Should you store you pretzels vegan in the fridge? Pretzels should be stored at room temperature rather than being refrigerated. Pretzels will get stale in the fridge faster than they would at room temperature.

Conclusion: Are Pretzel Vegan?

Pretzels produced using the essential three ingredients (flour, water, and yeast) are vegan and suitable for individuals concerned about their diet unless there is cross-contamination with products that contain milk.

On the other hand, some pretzels contain animal additives, including cheese, butter, and margarine and are only suitable for non-vegan.

Always double-check to know what is contained in your bakery-bought snack, or bake them yourself. You’ll have complete control over the ingredients and be able to consume your snack with confidence.

When in doubt, choose hard pretzels rather than soft pretzels, as soft pretzels are more likely to include non-vegan components.

As an Amazon Associate, earn from qualifying purchases. I only recommend products & brands I love and that I think you would love, too!
Follow me in Pinterest!