Are Sour Patch Kids Vegan?

Sour patch kids producer

Mondelēz International, Inc owns sour patch kids. The company became operational in 1985, when it started making original sour patch kids. Sour patch kids have seen grown to dominate the candy market across the world. The sour patch kids contain both natural and artificial flavor.

Continuous growth for sour patch kids

Sour patch kids has overseen tremendous growth in its fortunes. Its customer base continues to grow. A new retail shop was recently opened. This tact makes sour patch kids a household name. Such improvements have been made to make the candies vegan friendly. Major discussions have been held on the suitability of these candies in the vegan diet category.

History of Sour Patch Kids

Sour patch kids were discovered in the 80s. The first type of this substance was known as Mars Men. Original sour patch kids arose in 1985. Since then, they have become favorites among consumers across the world. Over time, the candies have been developed to have both natural and artificial flavor.

The popularity of Sour Patch Kids cannot be disputed. Every grocery in the United States and other parts of the world have sour patch candies available. It is possible for a vegan to wonder whether they fall under the sour patch kids category. It could be prudent for an individual to argue that because no animal products are s in the Patch Kids Vegan, they are not vegan.

It is advisable for you to continue reading to obtain more information about vegans. Among the key information required is to differentiate the features making vegetarian and vegan, alternatives to Sour Patch Kids, and key ingredients. Most of the people consuming sour patch kids opine that they are vegan friendly.

Evolution of Sour Patch  

Tastes for chewy candy have changed significantly over the years. Children growing up through the 90s can attest to the fact that Original Sour Patch Kids vegan were the favorites then. They are effective even despite their small size. They contain a sour, sharp taste, which then changes to a satisfying sweetness as one continues to chew. This characteristic distinguishes sour patch kids.

You should be keen on the ingredients of what you eat

Growing up, I did not pay much attention to whatever ingredients used to make the Sour Patch Kids vegans. I consumed the candies without caring whether it is friendly to vegetarians or vegans. However, I started questioning the ingredients used as years went by. One of my major concerns was whether they are healthy for consumers. I also wondered whether they contain any fruit ingredients.

A few surprises about sour patch kids

One major surprising fact about the candies is that they are not vegans because they are made of gelatin. This product is obtained from animals, implying that Sour Patch Kids are not vegans. Despite this, they contain plant products, more so for those bought within the United States. It is thus surprising that they are considered to be vegan friendly. The fact that they are gummies does not eliminate their inclusion in the vegan category. Even with the availability of this information, the process used in the procession of the cane sugar included in the candies spoils their inclusion in the vegan category.

This article delves in assessing whether Sour Patch Kids are vegans, the types of ingredients used in their production, their impacts on users health. Besides, it seeks to enlighten readers why the candies are not vegans. Lastly, the article will suggest healthy alternatives to the sour patch kids.

Expert Opinion

Are sour patch kids vegan? Experts argue that sour patch kids are not vegan. From the outside, they look like perfect for vegans because no one might suspect they contain animal products. Even though they may not contain gelatin, the controversy surrounding some of the ingredients used raises a few eyebrows. However, the ingredients used to make sour patch kids are vegan friendly.

Definition of Sour Patch Kids

Sour Patch Kids are candies that have become popular among consumers in the United States and other parts of the globe. Worth noting is the fact that the candies first originated in the 1970s from North America. Various countries have developed diverse versions of the candy, accounting for the tastes and preferences of consumers in these regions. Regardless of the need to meet the needs of users from these areas, they tend to retain the original sour taste that later disappears as one continues to chew them.

Recent additions to the sour patch kids

Initially, sour patch kids were produced with fruit flavors such as cherry, orange, lemon, and lime. Later, other natural flavors such as passion fruit, pear, grape, strawberry, and tropical emerged. Many aisles inside and outside the United States contain the products together with gum sweets such as Haribo, fruit pastels, and wine gums. Also worth noting is the fact that the company has introduced diverse variations to the sour path kids such as Heads & Bodies and Xmas Kids. These variations were introduced to cater for the needs of various consumers who exhibit diverse tastes and preferences. With the recent additions, are sour patch kids vegan now? This is left for readers to judge.

A touch of mystery

Sour patch kids continues to employ creativity in its products. A mystery flavor has been introduced in the recent past. Consumers were advised to guess the natural flavors for prize money. This approach is also combined with a message to convince consumers that they are vegan friendly.

How the popularity of sour patch kids increased?

Sour patch kids boasts of 1 million TikTok followers. The company recognizes the fact that most of its consumers exist on the platform. This informed sour patch kid’s decision to launch a TikTok page in June 2020.

Suitability of sour patch kids for vegetarians

Are sour patch kids vegetarian? Various pieces of evidence have been produced, which make sour patch kids vegetarian.

Definition of a Vegan Diet

A vegan is a food commodity that is produced using non-animal products. Besides, vegans do not consume honey, eggs, dairy products, fish, and any type of meat. In other words, they consume plant-based foods. These of the resources that can be used to make sour patch kids include to make them become vegan diets:

·     Fruits like coconut, bananas, watermelon, and apples.

·     Soya products such as tempeh, edamame beans, tofu.

·     Beans and lentils such as black-eyed beans, green lentils, chickpeas.

·     Vegetables such as carrots, mushrooms, and zucchini.

·     Seeds and nuts such as sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, and cashew needs.

Reasons behind vegans’ consumption

It is common for vegans to argue that vegans choose to consume such foods because it is a lifestyle. Impliedly, their decisions are not informed by the need to adhere to a given diet. For instance, vegans oppose cruelty against animals and the consumption of ingredients that are not natural. Vegans normally consume natural products, which implies avoiding harm to living beings.

Types of Diets that Vegetarians Consume

Vegetarians behave in a manner similar to vegans in the sense that they do not consume fish and meat. Despite this, they still consume byproducts from animals such as dairy, eggs, and honey. Importantly, vegans and vegetarians have reservations for flavors and artificial colors, and ingredients used to make whole foods. However, such tendencies are informed by people’s personal choices.

Sour Patch Kids Ingredients 

The country in which sour patch kids are sold determines the types of ingredients used to produce sour patch kids. For instance, it is worth noting that the candies in the United States do not contain gelatin, whereas those in the United Kingdom contain the substance. In such a way, the candies in the UK are not consumer-friendly.

Sour Patch Kids Ingredients in the U.S

·     Artificial and natural ingredients

·     Citric acid

·     Tartaric acid

·     Modified corn starch

·     High fructose Corn syrup

·     Invert sugar

·    Cane sugar

Sour Patch Kids Ingredients in the United Kingdom

·     Flavorings

·     Palm oil

·     Calcium citrates acidity regulator

·     Colors such as curcumin, lutein, paprika extract, vegetable carbon, anthocyanins

·     Concentrated apple juice

·     Malic acid

·     Gelatine

·     Starch

·     Water

·     Glucose syrup

·     Beet cane sugar

Notable difference between the U.S and the U.K

Worth noting is the fact that colors in the United States and the United Kingdom and the United States are significantly different. The artificial colors employed in the United States are blue 1, yellow 6, yellow 5, and red 40. In the United Kingdom, they get their colors from curcumin, anthocyanins, lutein, paprika extract, and vegetable carbon. Where the United States utilizes corn syrup and modified corn starch, the United Kingdom does not. Besides, the United Kingdom does not rely on citric acid when making their sour patch kids. The United Kingdom also fails to use tartaric acid.

Healthy Alternatives

It is obvious that kids love candies. These products are healthy when eaten in manageable quantities. However, the ingredients used to make the candies make them unhealthy. These include a significant amount of sugar, artificial flavors, and artificial colors. Some of the healthy vegan alternatives include:

·     Smart sweets

·     Astro blasters pink panda sour candies

·     Sourmelon bites

Available Flavors

Sour Patch Kids can be found in flavors such as cherry, grape, lime, lemon, orange, watermelon, and strawberry. The product was initially produced to have the blue raspberry flavor but was later updated to include flavors such as lime, orange, and raspberry.

Grapes do the Trick

Are sour patch kids vegan because of their use of fruits flavor? Grapes have contributed significantly to the taste in sour patch kids. This explains the obsession that people nowadays have with the candies. Sprinkling grape juice over the candies seems to do the trick.

Bone Char in Sour patch kids

The sugar used in sour patch kids contains bone char. The bone char contributes towards creating the white color in sugar. Worth noting is the fact that bone char is a component of cattle bones. Thus, the use of bone char is a major cause for concern among vegans. In such a way, vegans should only be used to filter the sugar.

Artificial Flavors in Sour Patch Kids

Sour patch kids utilize artificial flavors and colors. Some of the artificial flavors employed include Blue 1, Yellow 5, and Red 40. The artificial flavors used in the United States are synthetically made.

Recommendation

People should prefer healthy gummies to provide them energy and improve their health. These food substances also provide consumers’ bodies with requisite vitamins. Sour patch kids provide these substances. Corn syrup should also be appropriately adopted in the preparation of candies because of the nutrients it has. Besides, the use of lemons should be embraced because of the citric acid they add to the candies.

As an Amazon Associate, earn from qualifying purchases. I only recommend products & brands I love and that I think you would love, too!
Follow me in Pinterest!